You are here
Home > Music Blogs (Page 2)

Young the Giant – Mirror Master

Mirror Master was released on October 12, 2018 under Elektra Records. As the fourth studio album of Young the Giant, there was a build up fanbase waiting on the arrival after the brilliance of Home of the Strange and the well-known self-titled album. Mirror Master stuck to similar sounds of the band’s first album with the slower songs. “Simplify” was the first single released in June of 2018. Mirror Master, like most Young the Giant albums, has incredibly catchy and perfectly structured songs with a bunch of filler songs for the album. Don’t get me wrong! I love the work put into their music and think these fillers are good. I just think “Mirror Master” as a song is understandably better than for example “Oblivion.” While “Oblivion” has its own charm,

The 1975 – A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships

The 1975 released five incredible singles to signal their release of A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships which began with “Give Yourself a Try” in June 2018. The Indie Rock group dropped this beautiful bomb of an album on November 30th, 2018 as their third studio album. This was two years after their second album I Like It When You Sleep, for You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware of It. While The 1975 continues to get better in their electropop sound with each album, the albums titles are getting shorter. The next album which is expected to be released in May 2019 will be called Notes On A Conditional Form. A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships had almost universal

Castlecomer – Castlecomer

Castlecomer is an alternative rock band consisting of four cousins from Sydney, Australia. The band released their first album on October 5, 2018, gaining instant success. Although this band is new, they are already well known by the alternative rock community. When I first listened to this album I was immediately in love with their sound and immediately purchased the album. Castlecomer is an album that I love every song, but my favorite song would have to be “Fire Alarm”. “Fire Alarm” is a truly addicting song that you can listen to at anytime and totally jam out to. It has such a unique and new song I can’t quite describe it. It’s the ultimate alternative rock song with the perfect bridge

Arlie – Wait EP

Arlie is a new alternative/indie band consisting of four boys from Nashville, Tennessee. The band’s first single “Big Fat Mouth” was released on February 23, 2017 through Intermission Records. Arlie has an upbeat and fun sound that has its own unique spin on the alternative/indie genre. Although the band is new with little music, I can guarantee that they will become really popular in the months to come. Arlie has one album consisting of six songs, and its seriously incredible. It was really hard for me to pick a favorite song from this amazing album, but it has to be “Water Damage”. Just the intro of this song alone is fantastic and it the song just keeps getting better and better

One Republic – Oh My My

One Republic was formed by lead vocalist, Ryan Tedder in 2002 after achieving commercial success on MySpace as an unsigned act. The band has a unique sound that features pop, rock, and our favorite, alternative. The group first released their debut album Dreaming Out Loud on November 20, 2007, and the song “Apologize” from the album was then remixed by Timbaland, making it an international success. After “Apologize” everyone loved One Republic, and was stoked when their next album Waking Up was released on November 17, 2009. The music just kept getting better and better with their next album Native, and a couple of incredible singles sprinkled in throughout, leading up to their most recent album released in 2016 entitled Oh My My. Every single song that

lovelytheband – Finding It Hard to Smile

lovelytheband was formed by Mitchy Collins, Jordan Greenwald, and Sam Price when the musical trio met at a nightclub in West Hollywood in 2017. They then started creating music and released their first single “Broken” in April 2017. The single was so well received that it almost instantly received 3 million streams on Spotify and ended up hitting #14 on the Billboard Radio Songs chart on October 6, 2018. It was in September 2017 when the band released their first EP Everything I Could Never Say. Their single These Are My Friends was released in May 2018, with their first full album Finding It Hard to Smile being released a few months later in August 2018. Finding It Hard to Smile is full of jams, but

Lewis Del Mar – Lewis Del Mar

Lewis Del Mar’s album entitled, Lewis Del Mar, was released on October 7, 2016. This was the group’s first full album, following a few of their singles. Lewis Del Mar first released their four-song album in January 2016. The mini-album contained the songs “Loud(y)”, “Malt Liquor”, “Wave(s)”, and “Memories”, all of which were loved by audiences. In July of 2016, two singles were released, entitled “Painting (Masterpiece)”, and “14 Faces”, giving listeners a preview of the amazing album that was to come. In October 2016, the long awaited album was finally released, and it was completely worth the wait. Everyone loved the bands fresh, new, and exciting alternative sound, that we all instantly fell in love with There is only about four albums

Matt Maeson – The Hearse

Matt Maeson’s latest album The Hearse was released on April 27, 2018, just over a year after his first album Who Killed Matt Maeson was released. Matt Maeson’s first album was amazing, so it was no surprise when The Hearse came out as a total jam. His sound is very upbeat and brings a new and wanted sound to the alternative genre. When the single “Hallucinogenics” was released from the album in late March, it was determined that the new album would be incredible and follow with much success and praise. My favorite song would definitely have to be “Hallucinogenics,” with “Unconditional” coming in at a close second. “Hallucinogenics” starts with a chill and nostalgic sound, which becomes more and more upbeat as you get to the

The Happy Fits – Concentrate

Continuing with a fruit theme, The Happy Fits have done it again! Concentrate their debut album comes after their first ep called Awfully Apeelin, which deputed in 2016. The singles “Achey Bones,” “Grow Back,” and “Best Tears” from the album were released to pave the way. The Happy Fits are a relatively new alternative band that began in 2014 with a conversation about YouTube cover bands. The band uses according to their website “rocking guitars and electric cello” to create a catchy and unique sound. Personally ever since I heard songs from Awfully Apeelin playing around the radio station, I probably haven’t gone a day without listening to the fun, energetic sounds of the Happy Fits. I recommend listening to the entirety of Concentrate. Each song has

Catfish and the Bottlemen – The Balcony

Released on September 15, 2014 in the United Kingdom, Catfish and the Bottlemen introduced themselves to the world with their debut studio album The Balcony. Of course they had promotional singles, but it wasn’t until the United States release in January 2015 till they began to pick up some recognition for the album. The album was nominated for the Welsh Music Prize 2014-15 and as of April 2016 has sold 37,000 copies. The first song that introduced me to the album was probably “Kathleen,” but soon the hits began to find me like “Cocoon” and “Homesick.” I had not listened to the full album until writing this music blog, which I was really missing out. The songs do not sound all the

DJ and Contest Line