You are here
Home > Music Blogs >

Dreamland by Glass Animals

The latest album from the psychedelic pop band Glass Animals is suitably called Dreamland. Not only is “Dreamland” one of the most impactful songs on the album, but the whole sound of the album gives that feeling of a dreamland. The psychedelic sound mixed with Dave Bayley’s unique indie rock voice makes such an incredible album to experience. The way that each song melts into the other with the use of the short “home movie” breaks. It makes the album have such a personal feel like a dive into the childhood of Bayley. The flow gives album vinyl playability. Dreamland is an amazing album to just let go of the world for a moment and really listen to it. 

I recommend listening to it in order, but if you are an alternative junkie, I’ve found starting with either “Your Love (Déjà Vu)” or “Hot Sugar” is the way to fall in love with the album. “Your Love (Déjà Vu)” was the second single to come out to promote the release of Dreamland, but it was the first song to bring me into getting hype for the album. Unsurprisingly, “Your Love (Déjà Vu)” is one of the most similar to the first album that Glass Animals ever graced us with, ZABA. I mainly recommend “Hot Sugar” because it wasn’t a single. It has the energy of the album, so it should have been. It is almost like it was a hidden little gem on the album. 

Track List:

  1. Dreamland
  2. Tangerine
  3. ((home movie: 1994))
  4. Hot Sugar
  5. ((home movie: btx))
  6. Space Ghost Coast to Coast
  7. Tokyo Drifting
  8. Melon and the Coconut
  9. Your Love (Déjà Vu) 
  10. Waterfalls Coming Out of Your Mouth
  11. It’s All So Incredibly Loud
  12. ((home movie: rockets))
  13. Domestic Bliss
  14. Heat Waves
  15. ((home movie: shoes on))
  16. Helium

Album Review by Haley Isom

Call Now ButtonDJ and Contest Line